Over You

I’ve had a couple rough days this week. Not for any particular reason, just happens I guess. My poor husband has too. I’ve been overwhelmed with sadness by a song on the radio several times since we lost our baby, I tend to turn it off most of the time now. I’ve probably heard this song at least a dozen times before last night. I knew the words by heart, but I never gave it much thought because that was before.. When I heard it last night at the concert I couldn’t hold back the tears no matter how hard I tried. I realize that it is meant for a spouse but the feelings, the loss, the missing, the heartache it’s all there, plus if you believe in coincidences, it is precisely mid-February as I was listening to her sing about the loss, and say “it was only December”, right after Christmas just as it was for us . I’m sure I’m attaching myself to the song more than I normally would because the pain is always with me, so I tend to relate everything I see or hear to my own feelings and situation, but I couldn’t help it if I tried.

“Over You”

Weather man said it’s gonna snow
By now I should be used to the cold
Mid-February shouldn’t be so scary
It was only December
I still remember the presents, the tree, you and me

But you went away
How dare you?
I miss you
They say I’ll be OK
But I’m not going to ever get over you

Living alone here in this place
I think of you, and I’m not afraid
Your favorite records make me feel better
Cause you sing along
With every song
I know you didn’t mean to give them to me

But you went away
How dare you?
I miss you
They say I’ll be OK
But I’m not going to ever get over you

It really sinks in, you know, when I see it in stone

Cause you went away,
How dare you?
I miss you
They say I’ll be OK
But I’m not going to ever get over you

– Miranda Lambert
Leave a Reply

